Showing posts with label Beauty Product Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Beauty Product Reviews. Show all posts

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Finishing Touch Flawless: Does It Work?


I have never been one to pay any attention to an item running on the infomercial loop. You see, I grew up during the dawn of the infomercial … and they were nothing like QVC and HSN … infomercials from the days of yore usually featured some D-List celeb hawking the latest fitness equipment or anti-aging miracle -- oh it was a scary time. 

So, I think it’s fairly understandable that when Finishing Touch reached out, I was pretty skeptical. All I’d known of this miracle facial hair removal device was the first five seconds of the brand’s TV commercial … before I quickly changed the channel. But, you know that we at TME do not back down from any beauty adventure!


The Finishing Touch Flawless Facial Hair Remover arrived. Even though I knew that I wasn’t going to try it out then and there, I quickly opened the package. I just had to see the Finishing Touch Flawless device. The first thing that I noticed was its sleek design and comfortable hold. However, I put it aside and moved on to another project.

Later that evening, in the comfort of my own home, I tested the Finishing Touch Flawless. I was able to quickly, and more so, painlessly remove upper lip hair and some peach fuzz! Much to my surprise, this gadget got the job done without the redness of waxing, threading, or tweezing. As I stated it is very comfortable to hold and includes a light that makes spotting those sneaky hairs an absolute breeze. 

So how does it do what it does? The Finishing Touch Flawless ($19.99) has an 18-karat gold plated rotating head that spins and as you glide it in a circular motion across unwanted hair, the hair is removed. It sounds easy and it is. There is zero waiting time for hairs to grow out, as with waxing, and it’s painless. Not to mention that the Finishing Touch Flawless is TSA-friendly. The Finishing Touch Flawless is also Team TME approved!

Previously only available via Amazon, the Finishing Touch Flawless has just made its debut in ULTA and other retail locations.

About Flawless:
Finishing Touch Flawless was created by the makers of Finishing Touch Lumina, which has been the #1 facial hair removal device for more than a decade.  It has German-engineered technology and an 18-karat gold plated rotating head. It’s safe to use every day and you don’t have to wait for hair re-growth. It’s also super chic with a sleek and discreet rose gold design that looks like a lipstick! You don’t have to worry about any embarrassment of someone seeing it on your vanity or in your purse.  It’s also hypoallergenic, dermatologist-tested and travel-friendly (TSA compliant), making it great for use at home or on the go.



Tuesday, August 4, 2015

Summer Hair Fixes From Celebrity Hairstylist Bill Murphy



Summer is in full swing and we’re all looking forward to some fun in the sun. But this season also brings an array of hair problems. Straight or Curly, it can be challenging to beat the summer heat and bad hair days. Fortunately, The Makeup Examiner scored some rockin’ tips from Celebrity Hairstylist Bill Murphy. Bill is also the creator of Recitals Hair Care and offers easy tips for looking amazing while enjoying the best of beach weather!

“Hair dries faster during the summer than any other season. The combination of wind and humidity additionally causes frizz and renders hair brittle. The trick is to keep hair moisturized,” shares Bill.

Recitals’ latest product Melody Moisture Miracle Crème ($31), which The Makeup Examiner has had the privilege of testing out, is a multi-purpose product that acts as a leave-in conditioner, styling product, shaving cream and even an overall body moisturizer. Yep, an awesome multi-purpose product for summer! Formulated for all hair types from organic ingredients and botanicals, this wonder product goes deep into the hair shaft, and skin as well , for the ultimate in hydration. TME cautions that a little goes a long way, as she ruefully found out the first time that she used MelodyMoisture Miracle Crème as a leave-in.

Sunburned Scalp: Oh, like that’s never happened to you? Prolonged exposure to the sun can often result in sunburned scalp. An easy remedy for tender or dry/flaky scalps or even limp hair due to product build up is use cucumbers. Slice a cucumber in quarters and rub gently on your scalp. This will effectively sooth the scalp, moisturize dry scalp and eliminate product build up.

Color Fade: If you decided to spend time poolside, remember that this may leave hair color looking unnaturally brassy because of chlorine. Hair color fades naturally with every washing but even faster with the harsh detergents in conventional shampoos. Opt for a sulfate and paraben free product like Recitals Symphony Volumizing Shampoo to better maintain your hair color.

About Recitals Hair Care – Recitals Hair Care is a line of natural restorative, maintenance and styling products formulated with only the highest grade organic and botanical ingredients without silicones or parabens. Recitals Haircare offers unique blends that seamlessly work in flawless harmony and easily absorbed into the hair shaft to effectively deliver elasticity, firmness, as well as a silky soft, glossy, youthful feel and appearance. Recitals Hair Care products are available online at Recitals.

This article first appeared on TME August 1, 2014

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Elizabeth Arden Launches New Fragrance And Redemption




Admittedly, we were beginning to become anti-fans of Elizabeth Arden fragrances. While we’ve remained completely enchanted with Elizabeth Arden’s cosmetics offerings such as its Sunkissed Pearls Limited Edition Color Collection, the same cannot be said for the brand’s scents, which have brought to mind descriptives like boring, passé and well … cheap … as in drugstore perfume cheap. But like the cycle of life things change and Elizabeth Arden Always Red -- released July 2015 -- may just have brought redemption with Team TME.

Elizabeth Arden Always Red ($69 – 3.3 fl oz) celebrates boldly living out loud and making your own rules. With an Oriental Floral theme, Elizabeth Arden Always Red opens with a blend of blood orange, red plum and passion fruit. As the composition evolves, a textured heart of jasmine sambac, pink freesia and velvet rose petals evoke bold femininity. Drydown brings a sensually inviting rapturous blend of Mahogany and amber. We aren’t sure where the praline comes in, but we thoroughly enjoyed this perfume.

Elizabeth Arden Always Red Notes ~
  • Top: Red Plum, Blood Orange, Passion Fruit
  • Mid: Jasmine Sambac, Rose Petals, Pink Freesia
  • Base: Mahogany Woods, Red Amber, Praline

We see so many bottles of fragrance that it is seriously difficult to impress us and while we aren’t screaming, “must have the bottle ‘cause it rocks,” the bottle is worth noting with its gradation from black to red and onyx-inspired topper. Elizabeth Arden Always Red is a nice perfume for cooler months and definitely gives the brand redemption.

  • Seasons: Cooler Months
  • Sillage: 3 - Moderate
  • Longevity: 4 - Long Lasting
  • Bottling - 4

Elizabeth Arden Always Red is currently available online at Elizabeth Arden and Elizabeth Arden counters nationwide.




Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Number 4 Hair Review



Hello beautynistas and suavies! We wanted to write a quick review for Number 4 Hair to show that product quality can change … nope it isn’t necessarily you that’s experiencing a hormonal change or, what have you, that has caused your favorite hair care brand to work less effectively. In 2013, TME editor reviewed Number 4 and loved the products to the point that Number 4 Hair had become her favorite brand -- fast forward to a few years later and things have changed.

Founding principals: “Our collection was founded with the mission to develop a creative, high performance hair care line that runs parallel to fashion, science, art, music and Industrial Design creative cycles. By combining nature's greatest ingredients, forward-edge technology and innovation, we make your hair be what it should be- the ultimate look that defines new stylistic territories. We use the highest quality essential oils and extracts to repair damage, keep hair young, supple and color new. We gently cleanse with no harsh sulfates and we style with no stripping alcohols. We exclude all ingredients potentially toxic to humans, rare vintage couture, and our dear environment; 100% Vegan, Sulfate, Gluten, Bad Taste and Paraben Free formulas are never ever tested on any animal.”

Number 4 Hair sounds like an amazing brand and holds the same values that we do, but the efficacy has changed. For all the great things about this brand we are sad to say that no matter how conscientious a brand may be, if their products don’t work then everyone has wasted their money and resources. For us, this is a major bummer.

What we recently received:
  • L'eau de Mare Hydrating Shampoo ($34)
  • L'eau de Mare Hydrating Condition ($36)
  • L'eau de Mare Hydrating Body Lotion ($30)

Let us clarify that if it had only been one person testing Number 4 we may have had a much different opinion. But as it were, three of us tried the products and three of us had the same reaction. L'eau de Mare Hydrating Shampoo did not cleanse well, L'eau de Mare Hydrating Condition did not condition well, and L'eau de Mare Hydrating Body Lotion was an all around unhappy experience. Based upon our editor’s previous experience with Number 4 Hair, we were really excited to try the brand that she has praised for so long. While our experiences may be completely different form yours, we at The Makeup Examiner have to call it like we see it.



Friday, February 6, 2015

DevaCurl Dryer and DevaFuser Review



Ask any woman with naturally curly hair about her lovely locks, and we can guarantee that she will have a horror story to tell. From bad hair days (poodle poof) to horrendous haircuts (stylists without a curly clue)!  When we found out about DevaCurl we were skeptical … yes, two members of Team TME are curly girls so we know all about the uniqueness of curls!

Launched in 1994, DevaCurl open its first salon in NYC addressing the specific concerns of those with naturally curly locks. In 2006, the brand launched the DevaFuser ($44.95) with an innovative hand-shaped that delivers a 360-degree airflow. This design allows airflow to completely surround curls while helping to enhance the appearance of natural curl. Bonus: The DevaFuser fits on most hair dryers.


DevaFuser Highlights:
  • Universal, one-piece adapter that fits most commercially available hair dryers
  • Provides a 360-degree airflow to gently dry hair from the inside and out for soft, frizz-free curls
  • Enhances natural curl definition while adding volume and lift to all curl types
  • Lightweight plastic-fiberglass construction for ease of use, plus strength and durability

While the DevaFuser is fabulous all on its own, we were exceptionally pleased with the DevaCurl Dryer ($159.95 – includes DevaFuser). The DevaCurl Dryer guarantees softer, shinier, frizz free curls and it delivered!  Ultra lightweight for easy handling and styling, the ergonomic design features over 50 air vents that direct air to targeted curls and the dryer’s cold-shot button locks curls into place.


DevaCurl Dryer Highlights:
  • Ion generating technology
  • Dual temperature and speed settings for custom curl styling
  • Cold shot button locks curls into place
  • Ultra-lightweight for easy handling and curl styling
  • Concentrator nozzle

DevaCurl has 21 years of experience behind them and no one lasts for that length of time without knowing what they are doing. The brand offers curly hair products, an academy for those seeking to learn how to properly coif curls, and DevaCurl Salons – where you can actually have a curl expert style your locks! For more information about DevaCurl, visit them online!




Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Aura de Parfum Unisex Fragrance Collection by Raymond Matts



With nearly three decades in the fragrance industry, creating fragrances for the likes of Elizabeth Arden, Estée Lauder, Elizabeth Taylor, and Karl Lagerfeld, Raymond Matts has finally launched his own signature collection -- Raymond Matts Aura de Parfum Fragrance Collection. And within this non-traditional, seven-piece collection, Matts alters the way in which we think of fragrance with an unchartered approach to the artistic design of perfume. Do not seek the tradition of themes and notes, because these are not structural components within this distinctive unisex collection.

Team TME has a special passion for fragrance. There isn’t a member here who hasn’t taken the time to educate herself, on some level, beyond the spritz of a lovely scent. Fragrance is so deeply tied to emotions and memories. For one staffer, fragrance is a reminder of her father who always brought her parfum from his travels and for another; it is reliving the whirlwind global romance that led her to her partner. And because of our passion for fragrance, we become slightly obsessed with finding out about the perfumery and person behind the fragrance. The question is always, “Who is behind the scent”?

We were fascinated to learn that Raymond Matts began his career behind the counter at Aramis in New York City. Apparently as fascinated with fragrance as we are, Matts joined the internationally renowned fragrance houses of Firmenich and later IFF. He also holds a B.A. in Cosmetics/Fragrance Marketing from New York’s Fashion Institute of Technology. From counter to creator makes us slightly envious of this esteemed perfumier.

Perfumier Raymond Matts

In a statement, Matts shared the inspiration behind his unconventional fragrance construction. “Through my decades of work in the fragrance industry, I have continuously heard from both men and women around the world about their desire for a new kind of fragrance. I believe they are looking for something emotionally provocative that is not found on perfumery shelves today,” Raymond explains. “For the past 10 years I have worked passionately to create an alternative that would offer just that.”

What sets The Raymond Matts Aura de Parfum Fragrance Collection apart is Matts’ avant-garde approach to fragrance design. He doesn’t design for the past or present … he puts a new twist on fragrance development by blending the fragrances within the collection to reflect futuristic abstract scents. His design approach to this collection was to place an emphasis on building the scent with textured and harmonious blends of essences that suggest particular notes and moods. The Raymond Matts Aura de Parfum Fragrance Collection truly is art!

The Raymond Matts Aura de Parfum Fragrance Collection:
  • Maiaday (My*a*day) - This abstract floral is inspired by linden trees in bloom on a soft summer day; a tactile bouquet of airy floralcy. At first bloom there is a luminous brightness from a blend of citrus and watery green tones, combined with the fresh qualities of muguet and lilac. The velvety depth of a flower petal is achieved through. many green floral notes, all softened with a hint of saffron, vanilla, and soft woods. 
  • Sunah (Soo*na) - A hand traces the sinuous line of beauty… sheets infused with the softness of her scent. Never a distant memory! The tactile beauty of a flower is created from dew-laden muguet mingling with the green of mimosa and accents of apple to create the aroma of a wafting flower. The mysterious warmth of saffron combined with soft woods reveals a signature of sensual softness. 
  • Pashay (Pa*shay) - A fragrance of contrasts, Pashay was inspired by sultry days; a sun-kissed Mediterranean shoulder passing by on a Fifth Avenue bus. An edgy opening with a golden hue of freshness from a citrus blend balanced with the green watery nuance of William Pear. Marine notes of seaweed extract and kalamata olives enhance the beauty of Narcissus absolute, creating a daffodil impression. The sensuous depth is warmed with sandalwood and smoky traces of guaiac wood.
  • Tsiling (Tis*ling) - Changing the traditions of perfumery and inspired by pop art, a plastic flower with nature’s scent is born… unexpected warmth will playfully appear. A spray of crisp Asian pear introduces a natural wet green aura, while orris and the freshness of honeysuckle create a plastic floral impression. A cozy creamy sensation saunters forward as milk, rice, and a pinch of patchouli bring a hint of comfort.
  • Tulile (Too*leel) - A refreshing softer side to masculinity with an unexpected playfulness and sensual warmth. Deceptive with a pleasing alluring nuzzling quality. The initial predictability is soon replaced with intrigue; a watery-green impression is married to frosty crisp notes with a citrus twist. The sensation of dew laden muguet petals creates the illusion of a lingering citrus freshness. Polywood and ambrox provide an understated deep softness and intrigue.
  • Kaiwe (Ky*way) - Inspired by the lingering scent of a shower aftermath to walking on a rainforest trail of green adventures. The freshness of aldehydes married with an ozonic citrus blend meets a cooling eucalyptus and a hint of mint. An undefined floral heart is brightened with resinous green notes: juniper, a touch of rum, warmed with milk and ambrox. A relaxing casual blend distinctively his.
  • Jarro (Yar*row) - Humid vapors rise up inside a private villa on an exclusive tropical island. A daring unusual blend of sisal and the masculine spice of lilies emanates in the air. Sun-kissed citrus notes play within a green melon accord, which intermingle with the fresh volatile notes of labdanum and a watery green nuance of un-ripened hazelnuts. Orris provides richness, softening the masculine spice of lilies and humid texture of hemp. An enigmatic depth of exotic woods, wrapped with touches of tobacco, warm this fragrance.

In conjunction with a departure from traditional perfumery, Matts’ purposefully created a scent “wardrobe,” versus one signature scent, allowing a man or a woman to choose the fragrance they connect with depending on the day, occasion or mood. Capturing the rhythm of each scent, each fragrance smells the way it sounds, therefore each Aura de Parfum name is all its own. Each name defines the corresponding fragrance, resonating with an alluring quality. From dreamy and elegant to sultry and adventurous, each fragrance evokes a particular emotion, which is what fragrance should do for the wearer.

The Raymond Matts Aura de Parfum Fragrance Collection ($200 each) is available online at Raymond Matts and select Nordstrom locations.




Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Mirabella Beauty Launches Faerie For Holiday 2014



Mirabella Beauty is set to release Faerie, a luxurious limited edition four-piece collection that includes a long-lasting eyeshadow, a mineral-based highlighter and two high-shine lip-gloss shades. Faerie creates a romantic, ethereal, and shimmery look for the holiday season. With whimsical, yet chic packaging Mirabella Beauty’s Faerie Collection just may be our favorite collection of the season!

“The holidays are a time when women embrace a more glamorous look,” says Amber Bowen, Mirabella Creative Director. Amber shared that the inspiration behind Mirabella Beauty’s Faerie Collection was to create a collection that would be universally flattering, easily allow for day-to-night transition, and last throughout the days (and nights) of a hectic holiday schedule. 


Mirabella Beauty’s Faerie Collection Includes:

Myth Visionary Long Wearing Eyeshadow ($29): The bronzed hued eyeshadow has the silkiest texture, which allows for easy application and rich, buildable color. Team TME loves the versatility with a light touch offering up an ethereal look for day and buildable coverage allowing for a bold, glamorous look for night. Plus, this is one of the few long-lasting eyeshadow formulas that haven’t irritated our eyes. Myth Visionary Long Wearing Eyeshadow is designed with high elastomeric powders help mask wrinkles with an optical blurring effect! Myth Visionary Long Wearing Eyeshadow is talc and paraben-free.

Swirling Pearl Brilliant ($40) – Is a mineral-based highlighter with Prismatech technology -- combining all the best features of baked, fluid and cream products for a soft, long-lasting texture that gives skin the perfect highlight. Again, super-silky texture that offers easy application. Swirling Pearl Brilliant is talc and paraben-free.

New Colour Luxe Lip Glosses in Gossamer and Luminosity ($26 each) - Colour Luxe Lip Gloss shades Gossamer (Soft Pink) and Luminosity (Clear Sparkle) offer three-dimensional, light reflecting pearls and a moisturizing, vitamin-enriched formula with anti-aging peptides. There isn’t a member of Team TME who doesn’t have a lip product obsession -- lip stick, tint, gloss, balm -- it matters not, which makes for both comradery and fighting. We loved both glosses, but found Luminosity to be incredibly versatile adding a gorgeous sheen over any hued lipstick. Colour Luxe Lip Glosses are free of parabens, lanolin, and castor oil.

Does Mirabelle Beauty Test On Animals? In the words of Mirabella Beauty owner John Maly, “We don't test on animals, just make up artists! But they are really pretty good about it. In fact, they do it willingly!” and an added bonus is Faerie is made in the USA. Faerie will be available in November online, at Mirabella Beauty and professional salons. Check out Mirabella Beauty on Facebook for exclusive offers and giveaways!



Thursday, September 11, 2014

Chantecaille Fall 2014 Color Collection and 15th Anniversary Celebration




15 years ago, Chantecaille Beauté launched its brand with the philosophy of making women feel beautiful and beautifully making a commitment to the environment through responsible practices and philanthropic endeavors. Chantecaille’s philosophies haven’t changed, and with that, the brand is celebrating its anniversary by launching another limited edition Eye Shade Trio as part of the Chantecaille Fall 2014 Color Collection.

Beginning with Chantecaille’s 15 Year Anniversary Eye Shade Trio ($68), which is housed in a refillable collector’s edition gunmetal palette and decorated with Sylvie Chantecaille’s signature, the trio embodies the iconic Chantecaille woman. Effortlessly complimenting the Fall 2014 runway trends, each sophisticated shade symbolizes an endangered species that urgently needs help.

  • Elephant – a deep, earthy aubergine that can be applied wet or dry to the crease or lash line.
  • Butterfly – a warm buttery vanilla that can be used to smooth and highlight the eyelid or brow bone.
  • Sea Turtle – a delicate copper infused with light-reflecting rose gold pearl.

Proceeds from each Anniversary Trio sold will be proudly donated to The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, Monarch Butterfly Fund and WIDECAST to help protect our endangered elephants, butterflies and sea turtles respectively. To learn more about the plight of the beautiful creatures represented in the Anniversary Trio, please visit Chantecaille Philanthropy.

Chantecaille Beauté Fall 2014 Color Collection Further Includes:


Brown Le Stylo Ultra Slim ($34) - This sleek water-resistant liquid liner delivers intense, saturated color to the lash line. The innovative calligraphy brush-like tip allows for easy application. Thick strokes taper elegantly, sculpting and defining eyes to create a range of versatile looks. Shade: Brown – a deep mahogany. The defining accent when used with the Anniversary palette.


Bliss Cheek Shade ($38) - Embossed with the signature Chantecaille Rose, this limited edition cheek shade is housed in a portable and refillable pebble. Made with micro-particles, cheek shades create a subtle blush of color. Enriched with anti-aging vitamins, the color adheres beautifully to the skin and blends so well it leaves no perceptible surface. Bliss – a hint of petal pink. A delicate color to complement the fall look.


Fairy Moss Hydra Chic ($35) - The ultra-moisturizing, botanical formula delivers up to 6 hours of long-wearing color with a satin smooth finish. Natural papaya and orchid extracts help soften lips while simultaneously providing anti-oxidant and anti-aging protection. Raist, a natural sugar derivative allows the texture to melt onto lips with a comfort and hydration. Fairy Moss – the perfect nude with a touch of rose and a very on-trend fashion lip color for the season.


Mulberry Luminous Gloss ($34) - An extraordinary lip gloss formula that offers up to 6 hours of long-lasting shine. Rich texture, dramatic brilliance and innovative shiny polymers create a fluid 3-D glass-like effect for volume and shine with a superior adherence. Water-binding agents hydrate and smooth lips. Mulberry – a sheer burgundy with flecks of light-reflecting gold making for an approachable way to wear the bold berry lip seen on the fall runways.

Chantecaille Beauté products are cruelty-free, the Chantecaille Fall 2014 Color Collection is currently available online at Chantecaille and select retail locations. Check out this easy Fall 2014 tutorial from Chantecaille makeup artist Eddie Hernandez at Chantecaille.


Thursday, August 28, 2014

Fall Launches from Catwalk by TIGI



Truly mastering a proper blow dry and making it last requires some insider tricks. Enter Catwalk by TIGI multi-tasking products including the Bodifying Spray for Impeccable Volume, Hairista Split End Perfector, and Camera Ready for Shiny Finish: specifically designed to help achieve a flawless, salon-worthy blow dry at home.

Achieving blow dry nirvana is fairly easy with Catwalk by TIGI. Catwalk by TIGI Bodifying Spray for Impeccable Volume ($16.99) helps to achieve a bold and bouncy blow out, allowing you to sculpt a voluptuous silhouette by pumping volume into your style while providing subtle hold. For best results: Spray all over on damp hair and style with brush and hairdryer for volume like you’ve never seen it before.

When creating a perfect blow dry, healthy-looking hair is a must. Give your hair that silky smooth feel and combat rebellious split ends with Catwalk by TIGI Hairista ($20.99). This prepping emulsion harnesses the power of sophisticated split-end mending technology that effectively repairs up to 80% of split ends and even prevents new ones from forming. For best results: Apply to damp hair from mid-lengths to ends, focusing on dry tips.

For that much-desired luminous shine and to help keep your blow-dry looking pristine, lightly spritz your finished look with Catwalk by TIGI Camera Ready ($20.99) shine spray. Specifically formulated with a generous shine shot to help protect your style from frizz no matter the weather. For best results: Spray evenly over blow-dried hair and brush through, or spray while blow-drying with a cold shot of air.


The Catwalk by TIGI collection will be available at salons and Ulta locations beginning in September 2014!


Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Shu Uemura Vision Of Beauty Collection Fall 2014 Review




In 2013, the year of Shu Uemura’s 30th anniversary, the brand launched a new creative force: Shu Atelier. Directed by Shu Uemura’s international artistic director, Uchiide, Shu Atelier is comprised of a new generation of makeup artists … the disciples of Mr. Shu Uemura. In 2014, the Vision Of Beauty Collection debuted as the first edition of a new annual project by Shu Atelier to express Shu Uemura’s new vision and endless pioneering spirit.

Vision Of Beauty Collection Includes:

Brave Beauty Eye Palettes ($65) - Available in green, orange, and pink based hue palettes - The brave beauty eye palettes -- each containing six luxe eyeshadows -- pay tribute to strong, rebellious femininity with six different eye shadows in an array of shades and textures, from easy to wear pearl neutrals to eye-catching matte shades. These palettes can be used to create a soft and beautiful look or one that is both bold and daring. We received Brave Beauty Eye Palette in green and although the shadows offer an amazing amount of color delivery and blendability, we were less then enthused with the various green hues that are definitely not easy shades for most to wear.

Rouge Unlimited ($30) - Available in five shades: maroon, beige, fuchsia, rose, red and orange – Vision of beauty’s rouge unlimited lipstick offers a high color payoff, moisturizes lips and is a fairly longwearing lipstick. We’re in love with beige as it’s not your typical blah neutral. This particular shade is perfect to give your lips a little natural enhancement of color.

Satin Radiant Stick ($39) - Available in four different shades: light pink, bronze gold, pink and orange coral – Satin Radiant Stick is a smooth formulation that blends easily. It’s meant to be used as a highlighter or cheek color stick and the pink that we received does just that. Love the color and the kiss of glimmer.




Gel Pencil Liner ($24) – Available in three shades: green, violet purple and wine.

Collectors Edition Premium False Lashes ($500) – Limited edition lashes created by Uchiide.

Vision Of Beauty Collection is currently available online at Shu Uemura.




Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Nad’s Hair Removal Review



We think that we can acknowledge the fact that extensive discussions about unwanted hair are indeed … unwanted. Nonetheless, how is one to know about this often-delicate subject unless it is discussed? Which brings us straight to it! Having been sent a myriad of products from Nad’s HairRemoval let’s check out the good, bad and … slightly painful.

Products Sent For Review:

  • Nad’s Nose Wax Kit for Men & Women ($19.95)
  • Nad's Hair Removal Facial Wand Eyebrow Shaper ($8.99)
  • Nad's Body Wax Strips ($7.99)
  • Nad's Hair Removal Facial Wax Strips ($5.99)
  • Nad’s Hair Removal Brazilian & Bikini Wax ($11.99)

Beginning with Nad’s Nose Wax Kit, our beloved (and fearless) photog A.T. was game to test out the DIY nose wax for men and women. Nad’s Nose Wax Kit is a specially formulated sensitive hard wax that doubles as a blackhead removal product. A.T. reported that is was relatively easy to use and was effective for blackheads, but wouldn’t be a product that he’d purchase stating that, “Nose hair trimmers are just as effective as are pore strips and pore strips don’t kill my skin.”

Next up, Nad's Hair Removal Facial Wand Eyebrow Shaper. This product offers ease of use and its Slim Tip precision applicator allowed us to apply the product exactly where we needed it. Nad's Hair Removal Facial Wand Eyebrow Shaper can also be used on the upper lip, cheek and chin, and if you accidentally get wax where it shouldn’t be, the product washes off easily with water.

Moving on, Bryne of “Ask Bryne” opted to jump in and try Nad's Body Wax Strips. Bryne shared that it was a nightmarish experience from beginning to end. “Using the product as directed, I ‘warmed up’ the wax between my hands which made it goopy and difficult to manage. I proceeded to apply a strip on my leg and all that was removed were a few dead skin cells. What was left behind was a whole lotta mess that had me reaching for my Argan oil.”

Next up, Nad's Hair Removal Facial Wax Strips, which are the same formations as Nad's Body Wax Strips and are applied in the same fashion. We didn’t experience the issues that Bryne had. Perhaps because we were working on a different area?

Lastly, Nad’s Hair Removal Brazilian & Bikini Wax that ended up being our favorite product! This is a hard wax product that requires heating up -- 90 seconds in the microwave and you’re good to go. It has a light peach scent, which is relaxing before the “rip”. Slightly different then other waxes of this type, as it doesn’t require strips to remove. Apply wax; wait for wax to harden and pull hardened wax from area. Bonus: Kit includes four specially designed templates to personalize your intimate region.

Nad’s Hair Removal products are available at major retailers globally! Visit Nad’s online to find a retailer near you.


Monday, August 4, 2014

reVive Light Therapy by Kathy Ireland Skincare Review




Kathy Ireland Worldwide (kiWW) launched the reVive Light Therapy systems in June of this year. Pricing in at $69 to $350, the reVive Light Therapy systems seem to offer an affordable alternative to at-home skincare devices. Having had the opportunity to review other skincare systems, we’re familiar with how the products are supposed to work and what results one should experience.

First and foremost for any at-home skincare system is safety, for which the FDA says a resonating “yes” for the reVive Light Therapy systems. The next issue for devices of this type is ease of use and effectiveness. Focusing upon four key skin issues -- anti-aging, uneven skin tone and hyperpigmentation, acne and skin healing and additionally pain relief, we weren’t exactly convinced that one system could target an array of skin care problems plus reduce pain. But, we are fearless when it comes to testing out products for readers and forged ahead.



reVive Light Therapy offers four different systems, each utilizing various forms of light therapy to address a specific skincare and pain concerns:  reVive Light Therapy Essential ($69), reVive Light Therapy Clinical C 60 ($169), reVive Light Therapy Professional “Cordless Handheld” ($249), and reVive Professional “Full Face” DPL Panel System ($349).

The system that we received is the reVive Light Therapy Professional “Cordless Handheld,” which comes with three interchangeable LED heads, individual instruction booklets, goggles and a travel case. Beginning with the Blue Acne Treatment head (Because we happened to catch a zit) we attached the head to the handheld device and proceeded to treat the affected area for a one-day treatment cycle. The daily treatment cycle consists of 3-minutes in the morning and 3-minutes before bed. Bye-bye zit! Understanding that our acne issue was one spot, we wouldn’t expect quick results for more severe acne issues.

Moving on to the Purple Anti-aging light treatment head, which requires 20-minute treatment cycles, we used the system for one week and noticed a marked difference in the fine lines around our eyes. The Purple Anti-aging light treatment head was also highly effective in reducing a sunspot on our cheek and increasing even skin tone! The approximate price of reVive Anti-aging Light Therapy Handheld System is $169 versus the latest anti-aging laser gadget that costs approximately $565. The laser is heavy, costly, inconvenient, and we don’t trust the long-term effects of lasers versus innocuous LED light.

The last treatment to tackle was the pain relief. Utilizing the Red Pain Relief light treatment head, we did a 14-minute treatment cycle on our wrist. The first use brought marked relief and the second treatment offered complete alleviation of pain. As for reVive Light Therapy systems there are so many reasons why it’s a win. Varying price points, total effectiveness, convenience and mobility. As we stated, we’ve used other at-home skincare treatment devices and they’re heavy, not practical for travel and the prices are insane. So there you have it dear beautynistas and suavenistas, -- TME’s experience, and gold seal approval, with reVive Light Therapy systems.


reVive Light Therapy systems are available online at reVive and select retail outlets.


Wednesday, July 16, 2014

ECRU New York Acacia Protein BB Cream Review




ECRU New York introduced a line of hair care products, late in 2013, infused with Acacia Protein Collagen and Silk Proteins, one product being ECRU New York Acacia Protein BB Cream. BB Cream for hair? Being ever the skeptic, I simply rolled my eyes at yet another catch-phrase product. After all, what was this “Acacia Collagen” and what was so awe-inspiring about using it on my hair?

Putting my investigator’s cap, I read up on Acacia Collagen. I found out that Acacia Collagen is an extract from the Acacia Seyal tree, which is native to Africa. Apparently this botanical ingredient is used in high-grade anti-aging skincare products due to its moisture retentive properties.

ECRU is utilizing this extract, versus animal proteins, in the brand’s patented Acacia Protein Collagen Hair Care line as to offer the same moisture retention and damage prevention as high-end skincare products. As I’ve previously written, ECRU New York is an eco-friendly brand, which does not test on animals and is committed to sustainability. So, catch phrase aside I tested out ECRU New York Acacia Protein BB Cream.

What did ECRU New York Acacia Protein BB Cream ($30) do for my hair? Well, first off this is a multi-purpose product (LOVE) that serves as a leave-in conditioner, heat protectent and styling product! A dime-sized amount of product was plenty for my long hair (More LOVE).

Acacia Protein BB Cream didn’t weigh my hair down, allowed for quick styling when taking my naturally curly hair to straight, and left my hair in amazing condition. For those that have damaged hair, Acacia Protein BB Cream is must-have styling product and for those that don’t it’s a great preventative.



ECRU New York Acacia Protein Collection includes:
Acacia Protein Shampoo ($25)
Acacia Protein Conditioner ($25)
Acacia BB Cream ($30)
Acacia Protein Masque ($25)
Acacia Protein Oil ($30)

ECRU New York Acacia Protein BB Cream and the entire Acacia Protein Collection can be found online at ECRU and select retail locations globally!




Wednesday, July 2, 2014

Purple Prairie Botanicals Review




Going with the theory that everything happens for a reason, The Makeup Examiner offers up the story, and review, of Purple PrairieBotanicals. As with almost every interesting health or beauty product that TME has come across, necessity (frustration) has been the mother of invention. This is where we find a young mother of three who became frustrated with skin care products that were not up to par. Happening upon an article in an organic gardening magazine, she decided to cook up a batch of soap and in 2000 Purple Prairie Botanicals was born.

Based in Minnesota, Purple Prairie Botanicals is a homegrown company committed to using the finest organic ingredients, sustainability, fair trade practices and, of course, no animal testing. Purple Prairie are proud signers of the Skin Deep Cosmetics Act, Leaping Bunny, PETA and qualify for the National Green Pages directory. Are you in love yet?

Purple Prairie products are free of:
  • Petroleum
  • Parabens
  • Synthetic Dyes
  • Artificial Preservatives
  • Animal Ingredients
  • Detergents
  • Sulfates
  • GMOs
  • Gluten



Getting to the products, TME begins with Gardener's Carrot Salve ($5.99), which smells delicious and is made with calendula and chamomile, which protect before and after gardening. But, Gardener's Carrot Salve is not limited to just gardening. It’s an excellent product to sooth and heal dry feet.



Next up is Deet Free Bug Spray ($7.99), which is full of skin-loving natural ingredients, has a lovely scent (unlike many other bug sprays) and is effective! It’s also fabulous for soothing bug bites should you forget to apply prior to taking to the great outdoors. The special blend of essential oils and plant extracts in a clean witch hazel and water base that’s safe for all ages.



Rounding out the review for Purple Prairie is a look at the brand’s SunStick Solid Balm SPF 30 ($9.99).  Containing 20% micronized zinc oxide that scatters the suns harmful UVA and UVB rays, this sun balm is also filled will skin-loving products like organic cocoa and shea butters. Aside from being an effective sun protectent, it’s unscented, 100% natural, biodegradable and environmentally safe.

Along with the above, Purple Prairie sent over several of their amazing 100% Natural Soaps ($3.99). With amazingnous like Lemongrass Oatmeal Soap, Gardener's Carrot Soap, Peppermint & Oatmeal Soap Bar and Eucalyptus Lemon Soap Bar … you need to try at least one. Purple Prairie Botanicals are available online at Purple Prairie and select retail locations.





Monday, June 30, 2014

Pixi Beauty Picks For A Summer Beauty Getaway




Blah, blah, blah … The Makeup Examiner hears you as soon as she starts singing the praises of one of her favorite brands. But if you were to try let’s say Pixi Glow Tonic, TME can guarantee that you’d fall in love with Pixi by Petra as well. I’m seriously waiting to find a product from Pixi that I hate! I digress. For July, Petra Strand has picked a few must-haves, one of which is completely new!



So, what’s hot (other then the weather) for July? First up is Pixi Mini Flawless and Poreless Primer (&9). This perfectly travel-sized primer creates a seamless, silky canvas with a beautiful shine-free finish. The formula is ideal to wear alone and superior under makeup. Offering the perfect balance of hydration and no-shine, Pixi Mini Flawless and Poreless Primer helps to minimize the look of pores and fine lines.




Next up is Pixi Mini Flawless Vitamin Veil ($9 – available in 3 shades), which provides a fabulous “no-makeup” look as it evens out skin tone and hide imperfections. It also treats skin to a host of vitamins, minerals and skin enhancing goodies that plump up fine lines while offering awesome hydration.



Rounding out Pixi Beauty Picks for July is Pixi Nail Colour in Fuchsia Dew ($8). This brand new shade for July is like summer heat! Fuchsia Dew is bright and infused with golden shimmer. It’s fresh, it’s fun, and it’s perfect for July! As with all Pixi Nail Colours, Fuchsia Dew offers a smooth one-coat application that’s chip-resistant and has built-in UV protection to prevent polish discoloration while you’re having fun in the sun. Just a head’s up, Fuchsia Dew-069 is a Limited Edition Shade so if you love it … stock up!

Pixi by Petra is a cruelty-free brand. Pixi Beauty products are available at the brand’s website and Target Stores (US) nationwide.